Review: ‘Cohiba’ Bar & Kitchen

So I flew back home for the long, festive weekend last week and it was a breath of fresh air to come home to the trees and pollution-free air of Goa. None of that big city hustle and bustle.

While I spent most of my weekend working, I decided to unwind on Monday night (yes, I know, not your typical fun day out) and paid a visit to the ever so popular lounge and bar ‘Cohiba’ located in Candolim.
I came prepared for a quiet, low-key night with good food, drinks and conversation but to my surprise, Cohiba was as lively as ever! There were scores of cars parked outside and the security guard was kind enough to help us find a convenient parking spot.

I entered the place to find that most of the tables were taken by locals as well as tourists, something very unusual for a Monday night, but even though the place was quite full, it wasn’t crowded or uninviting. The energy and vibe of the place was fun and cheerful.

There was a Sri Lankan band called ‘Slipping Chairs’ performing that night and though I’m not that big a fan of live music, this band stole my heart! Trust me; if not for the food or drinks, you must pay a visit to Cohiba on Monday nights to check these people out. Their music is mind-blowing, to say the least.

We started off our dinner with cocktails. I had a watermelon daiquiri while Marlon tried the Long Island Iced tea. The daiquiri was fruity and delicious but nothing out of the ordinary. What stood out was the LIT. It was really good, better than most places I’ve tried it in. Being an LIT-lover myself, I couldn’t help but order one after finishing my daiquiri. The LIT gets bonus points for being strong enough to hit the high note! (if you know what I mean)


For starters, we ordered Chicken Wings and a dish called Beef on Wheels, which the waiter recommended. The chicken wings had that perfect balance of spicy and sweet flavours, however it was the Beef dish that took me away. ‘Beef on Wheels’ as stated in the menu is kind of a roulade with an outer covering of beef, stuffed with ham and cheese. If the mere mention of this sentence doesn’t make you drool, I don’t know what will. It was served with bbq sauce and a side of veggies, which paired perfectly with the main dish.

For main course, we shared Pork Ribs, Jamaican Jerk Chicken and Chicken Schnitzel. The Pork was succulent, meaty and marinated just right. It was a little messy to eat, but that’s always the case with ribs. The jerk chicken was well seasoned in spicy, sweet and tangy herbs and didn’t overpower the chicken like it does in most places. That’s a big plus point in my book! However, the schnitzel was a little bit of a letdown. It was served with fries, veggies and a dip which were all great, but the chicken in itself was a little too dry for my liking.


After main course, we decided to hit the dance floor and that was probably the best part of the night. The crowd was amazing and so was the band. We also spotted a few celebrities (Guess Monday nights aren’t always a bad choice for partying, huh?).

Overall, it was an amazing night, with lovely live music, great service and beautiful energy and ambience. The food and drinks were moderately priced and would come up to approximately Rs 1600 for two people. The vibe was great and the energy levels were high. Also, a big shout out to their PR team that entertained us and gave us great company. Keep it up, Team Cohiba!

With the weekend just around the corner, make sure you go check out Cohiba and don’t forget to comment below telling us your experience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

